29 June 2012
Affector: Guitar play-through video launched!
Affector:  Guitar play-through video launched!
AFFECTOR, the highly skilled new international progressive rock/metal band consisting of German guitar-player Daniel Fries, Dutch drummer Collin Leijenaar (Neal Morse/Dilemma) as well as the US based bass player Mike LePond (Symphony X) and vocalist Ted Leonard (Spock's Beard/Enchant/Thought Chamber), have recently release their debut album, "Harmagedon", all over Europe via InsideOutMusic.

In order to further promote "Harmagedon", AFFECTOR have now launched a guitar play-through video showing Daniel Fries performing the song "Overture pt.2: Prologue". Check it out HERE.

Selected press-feedback for "Harmagedon":

"...the debut album from Affector is very close to being something of a masterpiece of progressive metal beauty. When the band is heavy, they're heavy as hell and shred like demons, while their more subtle and sombre passages easily bring Pink Floyd or even Queen to mind." Powerplay Mag. UK (8 out of 10 points)

"They're a supergroup worth keeping an eye on" Classic Rock / Prog Mag. UK

"... my 2 cents worth of advice to our fellow readers is, do yourself a favour, get your hands on a copy of this album and enjoy this perfectly carved diamond before Armageddon..." powerofmetal.dk (97 out of 100 points)

AFFECTOR's debut album, "Harmagedon", was mixed and mastered at The Mouse House in Los Angeles by Rich Mouser (Spock's Beard/Transatlantic/Neal Morse) and its cover artwork can be seen above. The album also showcases four very special guests on keyboards: Alex Argento, Neal Morse (Transatlantic/Flying Colors), Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater) and Derek Sherinian (Planet X/Black Country communion). Also featured on the album is the Polish orchestra Sinfonietta Consonus.

The album's tracklisting reads as follows:

AFFECTOR - "Harmagedon"
1. Overture pt.1: Introduction
2. Overture pt.2: Prologue
3. Salvation
4. The Rapture
5. Cry Song
6. Falling Away & The Rise Of The Beast
7. Harmagedon
8. New Jerusalem

The initial version of "Harmagedon" was released as limited edition CD in slipcase packaging and additionally featuring 2 special acoustic versions of the songs "Harmagedon" and "New Jerusalem" as bonus tracks. The album is also available as strictly limited 2LP version in 180gr. vinyl, as standard Digital Download and also as HD-Audio Digital Download version via iTunes.

"Harmagedon" can purchased from the InsideOutMusic shop
in all its physical release formats as follows:
Ltd. Edition CD / Black 2LP / Purple Coloured 2LP

AFFECTOR are showcasing the album's title track, "Harmagedon"
(in its entire 13 minutes of running time!) via UK's Prog Magazine HERE.

And a 5-minute online teaser compilation with excerpts from various songs off the "Harmagedon" album is launched via the InsideOutMusic YouTube channel. Check it out HERE!

Some of the album's guests and other established Prog musicians checked in to comment on "Harmagedon":

"AFFECTOR's 'Harmagedon' is a solid blast of PROG metal complete with burning solos, odd time signatures, orchestral highlights, and Rock riffs that will tear your head off! Excited that I could be a part of this album!" Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater)

"I think AFFECTOR is amazing! Great playing, composition and production...and you can't beat the lyrics! Congratulations to Daniel and the gang. Excellent work!" Neal Morse

"If you are a fan of Dream Theater and progressive hard rock, this is an essential addition to your collection...you will love it!" Mike Portnoy (ex Dream Theater, Adrenaline Mob)

Citing broad musical influences and diverse inspirations between prog and classic as well as modern rock acts, AFFECTOR is like an open marriage between progressive rock/metal and orchestral minimalism, destined to appeal to everyone into bands ranging from Dream Theater, A.C.T., Symphony X, Darkwater to Queen or Rush.

Daniel Fries - guitars
Collin Leijenaar - drums
Mike LePond - bass guitars
Ted Leonard - vocals

AFFECTOR online: