05 June 2013
The Safety Fire: Unveil forthcoming second album 'Mouth Of Swords'
The Safety Fire:  Unveil forthcoming second album 'Mouth Of Swords'
London progressive metallers The Safety Fire are excited to announce the release of their forthcoming second album, entitled 'Mouth Of Swords' , on the 2nd September 2013. The band has been hard at work on the album for the past few months, and vocalist Sean McWeeney had this to say about the completion of the record: "Since our first album we've all concentrated more on having awesome haircuts and facial hair. Does that go some way to explaining why Mouth of Swords is shit hot? Some may suggest so. But all I know is I'm on it and that's enough for most people. This album is pure gold, and will be priced accordingly."

Guitarist and producer Derya 'Dez' Nagle had this to add about the release announcement and album recording: "I must have said "there is no topping Winger's 1988 classic 'Winger' " on a daily basis during the recording process. I've never been wrong about anything in my whole life, so it was a rather humbling experience to realise that what we were creating was in fact better than Winger's 1988 classic, 'Winger'. I felt like a bozo deluxe. After a while I came to accept that we had created the best album of all time, ever, in the history of known time. The burden of holding such musical gold was too much for us to handle and the band agreed to release it through InsideOut Music, on September 2nd. I'd like to think the music can speak for itself, but music can't speak, so I'll speak on its behalf. Hello. I hope you enjoy me."

The band are also very pleased to announce the album's full tracklisting, and as you will see below, the brilliant Tommy Rogers from touring partners Between The Buried And Me has provided guest vocals on one track. Full details are below:

1. Mouth Of Swords
2. Glass Crush
3. Yellowism
4. Beware The Leopard (Jagwar) feat. Tommy Rogers
5. Red Hatchet
6. Wise Hands
7. The Ghosts That Wait For Spring
8. I Am Time, The Destroyer
9. Old Souls

The Safety Fire has been documenting the recording process of 'Mouth Of Swords', and below you can find the four recent studio diaries for your viewing pleasure.
Vest Choir - Youtube
Vocal Tracking - Youtube
Guitar & Bass Tracking - Youtube
Drum Tracking - Youtube

'Mouth Of Swords' was once again produced by the band's own Derya "Dez" Nagle (guitar), who previously worked with Frank Turner (MONGOL HORDE), RISE TO REMAIN, and THE HAARP MACHINE. It follows the release of last years acclaimed debut album 'Grind The Ocean', which saw them tour the world with the likes Periphery, Between The Buried And Me, Gojira and Protest The Hero amongst others.

Watch out in the next week as the first new music from the album is revealed!