27 February 2015
The Gentle Storm: launch video for 'Heart of Amsterdam'; pre-order begins!
The Gentle Storm:  launch video for 'Heart of Amsterdam'; pre-order begins!
Arjen Lucassen (Ayreon, Star One, Guilt Machine) & Anneke van Giersbergen (The Gathering, Devin Townsend Project) are set to release the debut album 'The Diary' from their new band The Gentle Storm on the 23rd March 2015, and following on from the release of the track 'Endless Sea', they are pleased to launch the video for the track 'Heart of Amsterdam' which you can view here:

Heart of Amsterdam

Anneke had this to say:
"Heart Of Amsterdam is a tribute to the city of Amsterdam, the home town of the story's leading character Susanne. Seventeenth-century Amsterdam was a centre of shipping, shipbuilding, and trade. Amsterdam flourished, and a wonderful city was the result. We shot the video in the centre of Amsterdam. It was freezing cold and I couldn't move my fingers anymore during the last shots, but it was all worth it. I love how the video turned out!"

'The Diary' is also now available to pre-order in several different formats including a limited 4CD artbook featuring instrumental versions of the entire album, a limited gatefold 3LP vinyl with 2CD's, and special edition 2CD digipak. Order from the following places:

Insideout Music Shop

Digital pre-orders through iTunes & Amazon can receive both the Gentle and Storm versions of 'Heart of Amsterdam' immediately here:

Amazon MP3

Arjen & Anneke recently launched a series of video updates on the album, and you can check them all out here:

The Gentle Storm Youtube Playlist

Watch the lyric video for both versions of Endless Sea below:

Endless Sea (Storm version)"
Endless Sea (Storm version)

The album concept is a tale of love, loss, and separation told through the story of two fictional seventeenth-century lovers. A Dutch sailor embarks on a two-year voyage, leaving his wife at home in Holland. The only way for the couple to communicate and keep their love alive during the long separation is through letters. These letters form the basis for the songs on the album.

Arjen and Anneke are currently in the midst of a short run of European acoustic dates, and the remaining shows can be found below:

February 27 2015 - Hybrydy, Warsaw, PL
February 28 2015 - Blue Note, Poznan PL

A full all-star band will go out - without Arjen - in March and April, and the confirmed dates and band line-up can be found below.

March 26 2015 - Melkweg, Amsterdam NL
March 28 2015 - ROCK ITtervoort Festival, Ittervoort NL
April 03 2015 - Hedon, Zwolle NL
April 05 2015 - Paaspop, Schijndel NL
April 11 2015 - Paard van Troje, Den Haag NL
April 15 2015 - Colos-Saal, Aschaffenburg DE
April 16 2015 - Zentrum Altenberg, Oberhausen DE
April 22 2015 - Divan Du Monde, Paris FR
April 23 2015 - The Garage, London UK
April 24 2015 - The Musician, Leicester UK
April 25 2015 - The Roadhouse, Manchester UK
April 26 2015 - Prog-résiste Convention, Soignies BE
June 19 2015 - Dokk'em Open Air, Dokkum NL
July 09 2015 - Masters of Rock, Vizovice CZ
July 17 2015 - Night of the Prog Festival, Loreley DE
July 30-Aug 01 - Wacken Open Air, Wacken DE
October 17 2015 - FemME Festival, Eindhoven NL

The Gentle Storm live:
Anneke van Giersbergen (ex-The Gathering) - vocals
Merel Bechtold (Purest of Pain, MaYaN) - guitars
Ferry Duijsens (Anneke van Giersbergen, ex-Dreadlock Pussy) - guitars
Ed Warby (Hail of Bullets, Ayreon, ex-Gorefest) - drums
Johan van Stratum (Stream of Passion) - bass
Joost van den Broek (producer, ex-After Forever) - keyboards
Marcela Bovio (Stream of Passion) - background vocals