20 January 2017
Tim Bowness: launches video for "Distant Summers"
Tim Bowness:  launches video for "Distant Summers"
Tim Bowness recently announced the release of his fourth solo album, 'Lost In The Ghost Light' for the 17th February 2017, through InsideOutMusic. Now he is pleased to reveal the second track to be taken from the album. You can watch the new lyric video for 'Distant Summers' here: https://youtu.be/2Aj7IRLj-Rk

Tim had this to say: "Distant Summers is the most optimistic song on Lost In The Ghost Light. It's a recollection of the moment when the musician the album revolves around falls in love with music. It's the song that answers the questions regarding why he made music in the first place and why he's sitting in a dressing room 40 years later.

Appropriately, the song features a superb Ian Anderson flute solo. Ian's music had been something I admired greatly when I was growing up and I did indeed walk around the school playground with a copy of Aqualung under my arm! As such, the song is as much about how and why I became interested in music as it is about the character the album concerns.

Steve Bingham's evocative violin parts and the sedate feel make this the Ghost Light song that most resembles my work with no-man.

Lyrically, it's the one time on the album where I partially recycled an earlier song that related to the concept (Songs Of Distant Summers from 2014's Abandoned Dancehall Dreams). I felt that the sentiment of the song was necessary to Ghost Light, so over a completely different piece of music I re-wrote the lyrics and added a reference to another song (The Great Electric Teenage Dream from 2015's Stupid Things That Mean The World).

Bob Hodds' lyric video makes great use of Jarrod Gosling's artwork for Lost In The Ghost Light. For added amusement / poignancy, there are some subtle nods to the past of a few of the actual musicians involved in the recording."

You can also watch the previously release lyric video for 'You Wanted To Be Seen' here: https://youtu.be/O70NAIj69SI

Tim has also launched a new section of his website dedicated to Moonshot, the band that 'Lost In The Ghost Light' is based upon. Head on over to find more about their history: http://timbowness.co.uk/a-moonshot-story/

Mixed & mastered by Steven Wilson, the album utilises a core band comprising Stephen Bennett (Henry Fool), Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree), Bruce Soord (The Pineapple Thief), Hux Nettermalm (Paatos) and Andrew Booker (Sanguine Hum), and is also joined by guests including Kit Watkins (Happy The Man/Camel), Steve Bingham (No-Man) and the legendary Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull). Andrew Keeling (Robert Fripp/Hilliard Ensemble/Evelyn Glennie) arranges for string quartet and flute on three of the album's songs.

'Lost In The Ghost Light' is a concept album revolving around the onstage and backstage reflections of a fictional 'classic' Rock musician in the twilight of his career and features some stunning solos and harmonically rich compositions that represent Bowness's most musically ambitious work to date.

Lyrically, the album addresses how the era of streaming and ageing audiences affects creativity, how a life devoted to music impacts on real / family life, and how idealistic beginnings can become compromised by complacency and the fear of being replaced by younger, more vital artists.

Jarrod Gosling (I Monster / Cobalt Chapel) provides the fantastically detailed artwork, which includes a visual history of the career of the concept's subject. The album will be available as a limited CD/DVD mediabook - including a 5.1 surround mix by Bruce Soord - and gatefold LP + CD & digital download.

The album is now available to pre-order from Burning Shed (an exclusive hand-numbered gold vinyl LP + CD limited to 400 copies quickly sold out) . All orders will receive a signed artwork postcard. Pre-order now here: https://www.burningshed.com/store/timbowness/

You can also pre-order the album digitally from iTunes & Amazon MP3 and receive the tracks 'Distant Summers' & 'You Wanted To Be Seen' immediately:
Amazon MP3: http://smarturl.it/TBownessLITGLAmaMP3
iTunes: http://smarturl.it/TBownessLITGLiTunes

The full track-listing for the album is as follows:

1. Worlds Of Yesterday
2. Moonshot Manchild
3. Kill The Pain That's Killing You
4. Nowhere Good To Go
5. You'll Be The Silence
6. Lost In The Ghost Light
7. You Wanted To Be Seen
8. Distant Summers

Last year Tim released his latest solo album 'Stupid Things That Mean The World' which garnered some fantastic reviews and reached the top 10 in the Prog, Rock & Vinyl album charts in the UK as well as ending up in several critics' 'album of the year' lists:

"Ambitious art-rock and straight-forward singer-songwriter sensitivity" - Prog Magazine
"an absorbing, plaintive record that gets under your skin." - Record Collector
"music which conjures up visions ranging from the lavish and expansive to the delicate and intimate." - Louder Than War
"An album of quite outstanding brilliance. Sublime." - Echoes And Dust
"A contender for my Album of the Year, no question. "Is it prog?" you may ask. Frankly my dear, I don't give a damn..." - The Progressive Aspect