07 July 2017
Next To None: new album "Phases" out today!
Next To None:  new album "Phases" out today!
Rising young metallers Next To None release their sophomore album 'Phases' today, in Europe via InsideOutMusic & in North America via EMP. Pick up the album now here: http://smarturl.it/NextToNone-Phases

The band comments on the release:
"Phases is a great representation of what we can do as musicians. It shows our metal side, our progressive side, and the tons of dynamics." - Max Portnoy
"I'm really excited for people to finally hear what we're capable of. We all worked really hard collectively to deliver something we could definitely say was our own, and shows our various talents" - Kris Rank
"An album that really wets my lips" - Thomas Cucé
"Had a great time recording this album and hope people will really enjoy the listening experience." - Derrick Schneider

The band have just finished a run of shows supporting Mike Portnoy's Shattered Fortress in Europe, including last night's sold out show in Tilburg, Holland. Metal Talk noted of the London show that "they left the stage to sound acclaim, clearly having won new admirers".

'Phases' has been receiving great reviews, and you can find a few of them below:
"an intriguing and intelligent album"- Powerplay Magazine
"heavier, weirder and, importantly, far more confident" - Prog Magazine
"a fine achievement" - Metal Discovery
"an album you could listen to over and over again and always find something to delight you." - Avenoctum

The band recently launched a lyric video for the new track 'Pause', and you can check that out here: https://youtu.be/Sm40F4sbP4U

The band launched a behind the scenes teaser video, giving you a glimpse into the recording of 'Phases', and you can watch that here: https://youtu.be/BFX6ILGjAQM
Watch the video for the album's first single 'The Apple' here: https://youtu.be/usnsetwZsxc

You can find the full track-listing and artwork below:
1. 13
2. Answer Me
3. The Apple
4. Beg
5. Alone
6. Kek
7. Clarity
8. Pause
9. Mr Mime
10. Isolation
11. Denial
12. The Wanderer

Formed in 2012, and based in Lehigh Valley area of Pennsylvania, the foursome released their well-received debut 'A Light In The Dark' during 2015 on InsideOut. But if this set a template for the band's style, then this has now been excitingly stretched.

"We actually began to write songs for the new record as soon as we finished the first one," explains drummer Max Portnoy. As previously, this involved the duo of Portnoy and vocalist/keyboard player Thomas Cuce collaborating in this part of the process. And, also to some extent mirroring 'A Light In The Dark', there's a partial concept here. "On the previous album we had six tracks which were lyrically linked. But it did not stretch throughout all the
songs. This time, we have four tracks which deal with the idea of grief. However, that isn't reflected on the entire record."

The new 12-track album (including two short instrumental passages) marks the recording debut of new guitarist Derrick Schneider who replaced Ryland Holland last year, (the line-up is completed by bassist Kris Rank). "Ryland wanted to go to college, and is now going to Berklee College Of Music, whereas the rest of us wanted to be in the band full-time. So, there was no way that he could carry on with us. And we were very lucky to find someone immediately to take over. He was recommended to us by Bumblefoot (the ex-Guns N Roses guitarist who guested on the first record) and he was the only guy we tried out that fit perfectly. Musically and personally he fit straight in with us. One of the things he does so well is shred on guitar but he also has great voice and plays very heavy which has made a difference to our style and sound."

Although the album was mixed by the Grammy nominated Adam "Nolly" Getgood (Periphery), the band have produced themselves this time, a decision Portnoy insists has been of immeasurable help. "It's a collective production, with all of the band having their say. We had strong ideas as to how we wanted this album to turn out, and if we'd brought in an outside producer, then this could have changed. So, it was best for us to stick together and follow our own vision." The recording process started early last October, with the drum parts being recorded at Neal Morse's Radiant Studios in Nashville; these sessions were engineered by Jerry Guidroz. "We then spent about four months at Thomas' home studio (Battery Powered Studios) doing the rest of the work; Thomas was the engineer for those sessions. We were in there every day until 3am. I don't know how Kris coped, because he was going to school after we'd finished in the studio and getting just a couple of hours' sleep.

Portnoy believes Next To None have become a sharper and more challenging band with 'Phases'. "I suppose you could say that we've done here is do more of everything we did before, but the greater experience we now have has helped us become better at what we want to do. This time around, there are no guests featured, as was the case on 'A Light In The Dark', and as it's just the four of us you are getting more of what we want to express to everyone, musically and lyrically."

Next To None online:


Visit the new Insideout Shop: