17 October 2018
Rikard Sjöblom's Gungfly: launches live video clip of 'Anna-Lee / Polymixia'
Rikard Sjöblom's Gungfly:  launches live video clip of 'Anna-Lee / Polymixia'

Rikard Sjöblom's Gungfly recently announced the release of ‘Friendship’, their brand new studio album, due out on 9th November 2018, following the release of 2017’s ‘On Her Journey To The Sun’, as well as 2018’s retrospective 5CD collection ‘Rumbling Box’. 

The band masterminded by former Beardfish frontman & current Big Big Train member Rikard Sjöblom have also been playing select shows this year, and to give fans a taste of what Gungfly are like live, you can now watch a clip of the band performing the older tracks ‘Anna-Lee’ & ‘Polymixia’ here: https://youtu.be/nzoQEtFcv-0 

Rikard comments: “In January 2018 we went out with Gungfly to support Kayak in Holland on their ‘Seventeen’ tour. It was a fun tour - we ended up playing a mix of material from all the albums in our set and one evening in Zoetermeer the cameras were rolling. I thought it sounded nice and thought to myself, why not release a couple of songs online? When it came to pick the tunes I wanted to share both the rocking, pop-oriented side of Gungfly with the track ‘Anna-Lee’ (‘The Unbendable Sleep’, 2015) but also the more intricate and prog-rocking 11 minute instrumental extravaganza that is ‘Polymixia’ (‘On Her Journey to the Sun’, 2017) and they both share these funky elements so I think they go well together and showcase some of the variety in the Gungfly catalog. Now go dig it!”

You can watch a clip of Gungfly’s latest single ‘Ghost of Vanity’, from new album ‘Friendship’, here: https://youtu.be/F3dmQqBArO0 

Rikard comments: ”A song that really just came to me all at once while I was strumming away on my guitar one day, lyrics and all. I kept singing ‘I don’t want no part in this’ over and over at first and then started thinking about what it was I didn’t want to partake in. Well, vanity is something I’ve never been a big fan of but one way or another we’re all slaves to it. I think most people, especially teenagers and young adults strive to live up to unrealistic expectations from TV-commercials or the superficial parts of showbiz. I remember when I was a kid and thought everything they said on TV was true, or at least didn’t reflect too much about whether it was real or not. No matter how much we try to not care about how cool or pretty or rich we are, I think it gets to us. The ghost of vanity is always present and I guess it takes a lot of reflecting over your own identity and a lot of courage to try to be yourself. I admire those who truly are.” 

The album will be available as a limited CD Digipak & gatefold 2LP + CD (both including 3 bonus tracks) as well as digital download. Pre-order now here:

The full track-listing is as follows:

  1. Ghost of Vanity

  2. Friendship

  3. They Fade

  4. A Treehouse in a Glade

  5. Stone Cold

  6. If You Fall, Pt. 2

  7. Crown of Leaves

  8. Slow Dancer (Bonus Track)

  9. Past Generation (Bonus Track)

  10. Friendship (Utopian Radio Edit) (Bonus Track)

Rikard comments: “The idea for ‘Friendship’ came to me because of an old photo of me as a child. I found this old photo at my parents’ house, depicting me standing on top of this really tall treehouse in a glade near our house. Although I of course remembered it as being really high up in the tree tops as a child, this picture proved that it really was! As I reminisced about the treehouse I started thinking about my childhood friends with whom I built it. We were the best of friends and we spent so much time together in this little village where I used to live. This of course made me think about all the friends I used to have, these relationships where you hung out all the time, went through childhood together, grew up and knew everything about each other and then all of a sudden, for some reason, disappeared from each other’s lives. This phenomenon of falling out with someone is still a mystery to me, but I’ve learned to accept it, much like the separation of death it’s just a part of life and the nature of our course of life, I guess. So this is a collection of songs about and for all of my friends, dead or alive, past and present. I chose to base the stories around the treehouse in the glade, not because all of my memories are from there, but rather that it’s the place that made me think back on all of this.”

Rikard comments of the musical direction: “Musically, what can I say? This is prog rock, but I want to be free to move in whatever direction the music wants to go and I happily go exploring where it wants to take me. Even though there are a few softer songs and sections, most of the album turned out to be a rocker; a collection of hard rock songs with lots of tricky parts, some heavier moments and some downright jazzy elements too!”

Rikard Sjöblom is perhaps best known as the multi-instrumentalist frontman of Beardfish, who established themselves as one of the most consistently brilliant modern-day progressive rock bands over the course of eight studio albums. In recent years, he has also become known for his work with English progressive collective Big Big Train, playing live with them as well as performing on their most recent studio album ‘The Second Brightest Star’ as well as the new live album ‘Merchants of Light’.

Explore Rikard’s back catalogue with the recently released ‘Rumbling Box’ which contains 5 discs covering the years 2006-2016. Get your copy here: https://gungfly.lnk.to/RumblingBox 

GUNGFLY online: