28 June 2019
Pattern Seeking Animals: launch new track 'The Same Mistakes Again'
Pattern Seeking Animals:  launch new track 'The Same Mistakes Again'

PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS is the brand new group featuring the talents of current & former Spock's Beard members Ted Leonard, Jimmy Keegan & Dave Meros as well as long-time contributing songwriter-producer John Boegehold. The band will release their self-titled debut album in a weeks time on July 5th, 2019.

Today sees the launch of a brand new track titled ‘The Same Mistakes Again’, and you can listen to it now here: https://youtu.be/M2Rf349ktmU

John Boegehold comments: "The story of a man who messed up a relationship determined to learn from history or be condemned to hear that George Santayana quote repeated to him for eternity."

They recently lanched a play-through video courtesy of Ted Leonard for their last single ‘No One Ever Died and Made Me King’. Watch it here: https://youtu.be/QjCN1-qiUIE

Watch the official video for ‘No One Ever Died and Made Me King’ here: https://youtu.be/wl7hYwca0uw

Listen to the previously released track ‘No Burden Left To Carry Here’: https://youtu.be/JOH5aWo9KfE

The album has already been receiving great reviews, find a few of them below:
shiny and soulful but spiky symphonic prog” – Prog Magazine
a strong album with top-notch performances from some of the best players in the prog world” – Sonic Perspectives
this album is a must have.” – Progressive Music Planet

Originally a vehicle for a few tracks John had been working on in early 2018, he quickly came up with enough music to work towards producing an album. With that in mind, he enlisted the talents of Jimmy Keegan (drums & vocals), Ted Leonard (vocals & guitar) & Dave Meros (bass), with Boegehold handling all the synths. He adds: “Besides live strings on a few songs and a female backing vocalist on another, it was all done between the four of us with Dave and Ted ending up as co-writers on some of the material.

With the band obviously being closely associated with Spock’s Beard, John was conscious of exploring different avenues with Pattern-Seeking Animals, whether it was song structures, vocal arrangements, synth sounds or emotional textures. “Pattern-Seeking Animals was a clean slate so I found myself drawing on a few different musical influences and using some contemporary production ideas and sounds that I probably wouldn’t use with SB for various reasons.

The album will be released on limited CD digipak, gatefold 2LP + CD & as digital album. Pre-order now here: https://patternseekinganimals.lnk.to/PatternSeekingAnimals

The track-listing is as follows:
1. No Burden Left To Carry
2. The Same Mistakes Again
3. Orphans Of The Universe
4. No One Ever Died And Made Me King
5. Fall Away
6. These Are My Things
7. We Write The Ghost Stories
8. No Land’s Man
9. Stars Along The Way

As John notes, as the project came together it quickly became apparent that they would want to take this material out live: “Originally it was intended to be a recording project but as it was coming together we started talking seriously about doing it as a live band. Because of the complexity of a lot of the material, it’ll require an additional musician or two to pull it off live. The plan is to tour as much as possible and to come out with a new album at least once a year. In fact, work on the second album is already well under way.