Tim Bowness
Abandoned Dancehall Dreams
CD, LP & Digital Download
  1. The Warm-Up Man Forever
  2. Smiler At 50
  3. Songs Of Distant Summers
  4. Waterfoot
  5. Dancing For You
  6. Smiler At 52
  7. I Fought Against The South
  8. Beaten By Love
  9. There Were Days (Smiler At 52, Grasscut Mix)
  10. Sounds Of Distant Summers (Songs Of Distant Summers, Richard Barbieri Mix)
  11. Singing For You (Dancing For You, UXB Mix)
Born and brought up in North West England, Tim Bowness started his music career on the Probe Plus, One Little Indian and Sony/Epic 550 labels in the early 1990s, and is primarily known as vocalist/co-writer with the band No-Man, a long-running collaboration with Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree).

In addition to releasing six studio albums and a documentary dvd with No-Man, Tim has worked with popular Italian artist Alice, Robert Fripp, Hugh Hopper (Soft Machine), OSI and Roxy Music's Phil Manzanera (amongst many others), and is a member of the bands Henry Fool and Memories Of Machines.

Tim recorded the album Flame (1994) with Richard Barbieri (Porcupine Tree/ex-Japan), co-produced/co-wrote the acclaimed Talking With Strangers (2009) for Judy Dyble (ex-Fairport Convention), and continues to collaborate with Peter Chilvers (Brian Eno/Karl Hyde).

Since 2001, Tim has co-run the successful specialist online label/store Burning Shed with No-Man live bassist, Pete Morgan.

Now, 21 years after No-Man's debut and 10 years after Bowness' previous solo release My Hotel Year, Tim Bowness returns on the Inside Out label with his ambitious second solo album, Abandoned Dancehall Dreams.

Produced by Bowness and mixed by his No-Man band partner Steven Wilson, Abandoned Dancehall Dreams features performances from Pat Mastelotto (King Crimson), Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree), Anna Phoebe (Trans-Siberian Orchestra) and members of the No-Man live band (Stephen Bennett, Michael Bearpark, Pete Morgan, Steven Wilson, Andrew Booker and Steve Bingham).

Classical composer Andrew Keeling, best known for his work with The Hilliard Ensemble, Evelyn Glennie and his orchestrations of Robert Fripp's Soundscapes, provides string arrangements for four of the album's eight tracks.

Distinctively combining Art Rock and singer-songwriter influences, Abandoned Dancehall Dreams alternates between the low-key and the large-scale, possessing the cinematic scope and sophisticated sheen of No-Man's best work, while taking Bowness's music into unexpected areas, including the propulsive drum and string chug of The Warm-Up Man Forever, the fretless bass, synth and choir combinations on Dancing For You, the Nick Drake-esque Waterfoot, and the grinding Rock codas to Smiler At 50 and I Fought Against The South.

The CD edition of Abandoned Dancehall Dreams comes with a companion disc featuring strikingly beautiful mixes from collaborators old, Richard Barbieri (Japan), and new, highly rated Brighton band Grasscut and underground sensations UXB, as well as outtakes and alternate versions of album material (including an extended 2 part No-Man live band take on Songs Of Distant Summers).

Both the CD and the LP version feature the instantly recognizable artwork of I Monster's Jarrod Gosling.
Completed at Phil Manzanera's Gallery Studios and Steven Wilson's Nomansland in early 2014, the album was mastered by award-winning Pink Floyd engineer, Andy Jackson.

Abandoned Dancehall Dreams is a singular statement from a singular artist.