Tim Bowness

Lost In The Ghost Light is a concept album revolving around the onstage and backstage reflections of a fictional ‘classic’ Rock musician in the twilight of his career. It is a grand statement about a grand era of music making and an undoubted highlight of Bowness’s career.

Ranging from the hypnotic opener Worlds Of Yesterday to the wistful climax of Distant Summers, via the thrilling rage of Kill The Pain That’s Killing You and the orchestral expanse of You’ll Be The Silence, the album features some stunning solos and harmonically rich compositions that represent Bowness’s most musically ambitious work to date. Lyrically, the album addresses how the era of streaming and ageing audiences affects creativity, how a life devoted to music impacts on real / family life, and how idealistic beginnings can become compromised by complacency and the fear of being replaced by younger, more vital artists.
Though firmly focused on Bowness’s distinctive voice and musical approach, the album also draws inspiration from the period the concept covers and contains a notable 1970s Symphonic/Progressive Rock influence.

Mixed and mastered by Bowness’s No-Man partner Steven Wilson, Lost In The Ghost Light uses a core band comprising Stephen Bennett, Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree), Bruce Soord (The Pineapple Thief), Hux Nettermalm (Paatos) and Andrew Booker (Sanguine Hum), as well as guests including Kit Watkins (Happy The Man/Camel), Steve Bingham (No-Man) and the legendary Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull). Andrew Keeling (Robert Fripp/Hilliard Ensemble/Evelyn Glennie) arranges for string quartet and flute on three of the album’s songs.

Jarrod Gosling (I Monster / Cobalt Chapel) provides the fantastically detailed artwork, which includes a visual history of the career of the concept’s subject.
Mixed and mastered by Steven Wilson.

Tim Bowness follows 2015’s Stupid Things That Mean The World - Top 10 in the UK ‘Rock’, ‘Vinyl’ and ‘Prog’ charts - with a release unlike any in his back catalogue.

Some biographic facts on Tim Bowness:
Born and brought up in the North West of England, Tim Bowness started his music career in the early 1990s and is primarily known as vocalist/co-writer with the band No-Man, a long-running collaboration with Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree etc).
In addition to releasing six studio albums and a documentary DVD with No-Man, Tim has worked with popular Italian artist Alice, Mercury Prize nominated Banco De Gaia, Robert Fripp, Peter Hammill and Roxy Music's Phil Manzanera (amongst many others). He has recorded for labels including InsideOutMusic, Kscope, Mascot, Probe Plus, One Little Indian and Sony/Epic 550.

Tim recorded the album Flame (1994) with Richard Barbieri (Porcupine Tree/ex-Japan), co-produced/co-wrote Talking With Strangers (2009) for Judy Dyble (ex-Fairport Convention), and regularly collaborates with Peter Chilvers (Brian Eno/Karl Hyde).
Since 2001, Tim has co-run the successful specialist online label/store Burning Shed with No-Man live bassist, Pete Morgan.
Bowness’s solo discography comprises My Hotel Year (2004, One Little Indian), Abandoned Dancehall Dreams (2014, InsideOutMusic), Stupid Things That Mean The World (2015, InsideOutMusic) and Lost In The Ghost Light (2017, InsideOutMusic).

Latest Release

Tim Bowness
Flowers At The Scene
CD, LP + CD & as a digital album.


Tim Bowness
(Vocals / Guitars)