06 July 2018
Devin Townsend Project: release a new live video of "Ocean Machine - Live at the Ancient Roman Theatre" which is out now!
Devin Townsend Project:  release a new live video of  "Ocean Machine - Live at the Ancient Roman Theatre" which is out now!

On the 22nd September 2017, Devin Townsend Project played a special show at the Ancient Roman Theatre in Plovdiv, Bulgaria, celebrating the 20th anniversary of the landmark Ocean Machine album in full, as well as a set of fan-requested tracks alongside the Orchestra of Plovdiv State Opera. This concert was filmed, and today it sees its release as ‘Ocean Machine – Live at the Ancient Roman Theatre Plovdiv’. 

To celebrate, a video clip of the band performing ‘By Your Command’, alongside the orchestra, can be seen here: https://youtu.be/TDP6gNR9fAA

You can watch the previously released clips for ‘Regulator’ & ‘Truth’ below:

Regulator: https://youtu.be/MlEXMS1DRLQ 

Truth: https://youtu.be/jhHxvAgjvEo 

Devin previously commented: 

“Hey there, Devin T here, taking a second to bring myself up for air from writing :)

After a long and arduous process, the concert myself and the DTP performed in Plovdiv Bulgaria is finished. 

I am very proud of this release and it represents a culmination of many years of material. The concert actually is in two parts, with Ocean Machine being the second. It was a fantastic night and an unforgettable experience with the die-hards travelling from all around the world to be there with us.

As I move into the next phase of my life and career, this live in Bulgaria DVD stands as a monument for me, and what we achieved with the DTP. 

As always, words fail me when it comes to expressing what the support of the audience means, but I thank you and everyone involved for allowing this to happen. 

I hope you enjoy :)

‘Ocean Machine – Live at the Ancient Roman Theatre Plovdiv’ is available as a limited deluxe 3CD/2DVD/Blu-Ray artbook (with liner notes from Devin and a special documentary on the second DVD & Blu-Ray), Special Edition 3CD/DVD Digipak, standalone Blu-Ray and as digital audio download. Order now here: https://devintownsendproject.lnk.to/OceanMachineLive 

“epic, swelling bombast worthy of the old stone”Metal Hammer

“a bold document from an incredibly ambitious artist.”Prog Magazine

“an incredible evening of music performed with precision and passion and captured for all of us in a nearly perfect fashion.”Metal Wani

The full track-listing is as follows:

By Request with Orchestra

  1. Truth

  2. Stormbending

  3. Om

  4. Failure

  5. By Your Command

  6. Gaia

  7. Deadhead

  8. Canada

  9. Bad Devil

  10. Higher

  11. A Simple Lullaby

  12. Deep Peace

Ocean Machine

  1. Seventh Wave

  2. Life

  3. Night

  4. Hide Nowhere

  5. Sister

  6. 3 A.M.

  7. Voices in the Fan

  8. Greetings

  9. Regulator

  10. Funeral

  11. Bastard

  12. The Death of Music

  13. Things Beyond Things

The first in a series of special vinyl boxes was also recently released. ‘ERAS – Vinyl Collection Part 1’ compiles the albums ‘Ki’, ‘Addicted’, ‘Deconstruction’ & ‘Ghost’ in a sturdy box all on 180g heavyweight vinyl. You can order your copy now here: