19 November 2019
Bent Knee : launch 'Catch Light' live session & studio breakdown video
Bent Knee :  launch 'Catch Light' live session & studio breakdown video

Bent Knee, the Boston-based sextet that Brooklyn Vegan calls “a true powerhouse,” have released their new album 'You Know What They Mean' via InsideOutMusic. This week, they've released a live video for the single ‘Catch Light’, filmed by DeSant Productions at Big Nice Studios, alongside a special clip with band members Ben Levin and Vince Welch breaking down the creation of the song from its humble beginnings during a writing session at violinist Chris Baum’s house.

Watch the live performance at: https://youtu.be/xH7hsrT1a0o
...and the song breakdown at: https://youtu.be/R88_ux8pZrM

On ‘You Know What They Mean’, the outfit’s myriad influences are distilled into a deeply moving art form that defies categorization, merging texture and style into music that’s thrilling, addictive, and unapologetically original. Lead singer and keyboardist Courtney Swain’s soaring vocals again prove to be instantly arresting whereas guitarist Ben Levin, bassist Jessica Kion, drummer Gavin Wallace-Ailsworth, violinist Chris Baum and sound designer Vince Welch (who also mixed the album) shine with an expert performance that brilliantly fuses a vibrant selection of moods and dynamics.

Watch the official video for Catch Light here: https://youtu.be/ACk8LBO-C3A
Watch the Ben Levin-created video for Bone Rage here: https://youtu.be/8W1KaM_C7uA
Watch the video for ‘Hold Me In’, directed by Kelsey Hunter Ayres, here: https://youtu.be/Q63OhjXmjw4

‘You Know What They Mean’ is available as a Limited Edition CD Digipak, Gatefold LP + CD, and as digital album, featuring the previously released single ‘Catch Light’ and artwork by Riki Nitabaru. Order now here: https://bent-knee.lnk.to/YouKnowWhatTheyMean

You can see the full track-listing below:
1. Lansing
2. Bone Rage
3. Give Us The Gold
4. Hold Me In
5. Egg Replacer
6. Cradle Of Rocks
7. Lovell
8. lovemenot
9. Bird Song
10. Catch Light
11. Garbage Shark
12. Golden Hour
13. It Happens

The band begin their North American tour alongside Thank You Scientist and The Tea Club today. Find the full list of shows below: https://www.bentkneemusic.com

Bent Knee formed in Boston in 2009 as a collaborative determined to push the boundaries of pop and rock, combining all their influences into a seamless, thrilling whole. The band has gone from strength to strength in recent years. Their last three albums, 2017’s Land Animal, 2016’s Say So and 2014’s Shiny Eyed Babies, were hailed as significant art-rock achievements, and the band continues to be garnished with praise for their live show, performing hundreds of concerts worldwide to date.

Mind boggling... the grandest and subtlest ideas are on the table" – NPR

The silo-smashing Bent Knee’s unique mix is equal parts ingenuity and deliciousness– The Wall Street Journal

Bent Knee breaks new stylistic and temperamental ground– The Boston Globe

BENT KNEE online: