The Flower Kings
Manifesto Of An Alchemist
Limited CD Digipak, Gatefold 180g 2LP + CD, digital album
Roine Stolt, known as the guitarist, singer, writer and at times band leader of the groups The Flower Kings, Transatlantic, Agents of Mercy, Kaipa DC, as well as from his work with prog icon Jon Anderson and the new super group The Sea Within, is releasing a new album in November. Under the moniker ROINE STOLT’S THE FLOWER KING, “Manifesto Of An Alchemist” offers 10 songs and almost 70 minutes of playing time celebrating the style Roine is most revered for: progressive rock, richly orchestrated with all the trademark elements from four decades of prog! “Unlike many later albums, where recordings have continued over months”, Roine states, “this new album has been a fairly quick and effective affair - we started tracking in Holland at the beginning of July and mix was done by mid-August! The songs are written in a very ‘unorthodox’ way - some melodic content and some riffs are ideas that have been circulating for years - some may even be from before the first TFK album - they just hadn’t found a home in any of the bands/albums I did in the last 15 years yet.”

Starting as a teenage prodigy in the band Kaipa in 1974 and first releasing his music on the LP “Kaipa” (1975) via DECCA is a veteran with more than 200 recorded titles since the humble beginnings in the mid 70’s. Fast forward to the 90’s, the album “The Flower King” (1994) marked an important offering in his career since Roine played all instruments except for drums and the a self-produced/self-financed effort rapidly propelled the Swedish guitarist into international prog stardom. His 2018 album, garnered with artwork by Shaun Beyond, is a celebration of all the styles that have been part of the colorful, daring and dynamic songwriting and arrangements, Roine masters like no other yet also offers a more immediate, more hands on approach. “Like that first TFK album, I’m the main lead vocalist here again - it works as these lyrics are important to me and resonate with my view of the world. A lot of the guitar work is actually my spontaneous ‘demo’ guitars” and that goes for much of the synth work, too. I didn’t want to ‘process’ ideas too much as there is much power in the initial creation - I wanted to keep it that way.”

But of course, “Manifesto Of An Alchemist” also features a whole lot of equally renowned and respected musicians: Marco Minnemann / Drums Michael Stolt / Bass & Vocals Jonas Reingold / Bass Rob Townsend / Sax Max Lorentz / Hammond B3 & Vocals Zach Kamins / Moog & Keyboards Hans Froberg / Vocals Nad Sylvan / Vocals

And, Roine will take this album as well as classics from the The Flower Kings’ catalogue on stage!
“I am excite that the album will be released in November this year and at the same time will be in South America playing The Flower Kings music with a band that also includes Hasse Froberg & Jonas Reingold and also introduces two younger friends; Zach Kamins on keyboards and Mirko DiMaio on drums - both fabulous musicians. We will also bring this to Europe where we join forces with legends Spocks Beard.”

So, enjoy this wonderful musical journey that is “Manifesto Of An Alchemist” and do not miss Roine Stolt’s The Flower King live!